Select Page

NatWest OSCAs

The NatWest OSCAs (Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards) are aimed at recognising those volunteers who do so much for the game of cricket.

NatWest OSCAs
(Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards)

Details of the 2020 OSCAs awards, including how to nominate and the SCB presentation event, will appear here shortly.

In the meantime please see the report below of our 2019 OSCAs presentation day.

Hopefully this will encourage clubs to nominate their volunteers and recognise the contribution that these individuals make to the game.

2019 SCB NatWest OSCAs Presentation day

We were delighted to host our 2019 NatWest OSCA Presentation event at the CA County Ground on Sunday 7 July.

The NatWest OSCAs are a national reward and recognition scheme to support grass roots cricket and the vast army of volunteers who ensure that cricket can be enjoyed by so many at all levels, with the overall aim of rewarding the contribution that these volunteers make to the game.

Each year we ask our clubs and organisations to nominate worthy volunteers for an OSCA, so that we can say ‘thank you’ to them for all their hard work.

This year 21 OSCA winners and their guests enjoyed a fantastic hospitality day on at the Somerset v Nottinghamshire County Championship fixture at the CA County Ground.

All of our winners and guests had complimentary tickets and reserved seating in the ground, courtesy of Somerset County Cricket Club. We were able to provide a superb carvery lunch in the County Room, enjoyed by all of our guests.
This was followed by an on field presentation on the pitch during the lunch interval, with SCCC professional Josh Davey on hand to present the OSCA winners with their certificates.

With the sun shining and Somerset piling up the runs, our volunteers were then able to sit back and enjoy the rest of the days play.

With a total of 31 OSCA winners across six different categories, it has been a real pleasure to reward and recognise the work that our volunteers undertake at clubs across the whole county.

The Somerset Cricket Board will now be putting forward 6 County Winners to the ECB to go forward to the national Nat West OSCAs event at Lords cricket ground on Monday 14th October.

A full list of our 2019 OSCA winners can be found below:

Nominee                         Club                                                Category

Peter Holdaway            Barrow Gurney CC                     Heartbeat of the Club

Dave Cox                        Leigh on Mendip CC                  Heartbeat of the Club

Derek Joyce                   Keynsham CC                              Heartbeat of the Club

Tony Hutchings             Wellington CC                            Heartbeat of the Club

Andrew Forsyth            Long Ashton CC                          Heartbeat of the Club

Jon Solly                         Hampset CC                                Heartbeat of the Club

Jon Randall                    Huntspill & District CC               Heartbeat of the Club

Donna Hibbert              Staplegrove CC                           Heartbeat of the Club

Toby Strang                   Huish & Langport CC                 Heartbeat of the Club

Gary Way                       West Bagborough CC                Heartbeat of the Club

David Stirzaker              West Bagborough CC                Heartbeat of the Club

Claire Matthews           Wembdon CC                             Heartbeat of the Club

Barry Swann                  Minehead CC                              Heartbeat of the Club

Jon Bendle                     Wombat CC                                 Heartbeat of the Club

Martin Kendall              Timsbury CC                                Most Inspiring & Diverse Cricket Offer

Sarah Watts                   Claverham CC                             Most Inspiring & Diverse Cricket Offer

Adam Chudzikiewicz    Knowle CC                                   Pro-Active Leadership in Cricket

Craig Swinburne           West Bagborough CC                Young Volunteer 19-25

Kieran Chapman           Uphill Castle CC                          Young Volunteer 19-25

Paddy Holyday              Uphill Castle CC                          Young Volunteer 19-25

Neve Kennedy               Uphill Castle CC                          Young Volunteer 14-18

Callum Sturgess            Wembdon CC                              Young Volunteer 14-18

Stuart Tudball               Minehead CC                               Lifetime Achiever

Peter Gendle                 Claverham CC                              Lifetime Achiever

John Tozer                     Norton St Philip CC                     Lifetime Achiever

Ivan Jones                      Minehead CC                               Lifetime Achiever

Gill Murawicki               Brompton Ralph CC                    Lifetime Achiever

Paul York-Smith            Wombat CC                                  Lifetime Achiever

Gordon Stone                North Newton CC                       Lifetime Achiever

Rick Brafield                  Churchill CC                                  Lifetime Achiever

John Parsons                 Cleeve CC                                      Lifetime Achiever